2017 Scholarship Awards Announced

Six Ohio high school and college students have been selected to receive scholarships from OAC. The scholarships, each totaling $1,500, were awarded for the 2017-2018 school year.    

The students, each of whom is pursuing a degree in an agricultural-related area of study, were chosen based on their excellent academic record, outstanding leadership qualities, community involvement, and exceptional essay responses.

"The Ohio Agricultural Council is pleased each year to provide scholarships to help students further their education. We recognize that the future of the agricultural community lies with the next generation of leaders," says Jim Chakeres, OAC president. "We congratulate these young leaders on being selected to receive scholarships for the 2017-18 school year."

The high school student recipients and their hometowns are as follows:

  • Jason Hollick, Dublin
  • Chantal Monnier, Paulding
  • Darby Sherman, Oak Harbor


The college student recipients and their hometowns are as follows: 

  • Mary Buehler, Anna
  • Matthew Klopfenstein, Haviland
  • Anna Schmenk, Leipsic

The students will be recognized at OAC's annual Ohio Agricultural Hall of Fame Awards Program on August 4 at the Ohio State Fair.  As part of the award, the scholarship recipients will also receive a one-year complimentary membership in the Council.